Licenses and Permits


Dog Licenses

ClipArt Dogs

The State of Michigan requires ALL dogs over 4 months to be current with rabies vaccine and to have a Michigan dog license. Failure to comply may result in a misdemeanor ticket. You may purchase a one or three year dog license.

A license must be purchased within 30 days of:

  • Purchasing or acquiring a new dog
  • A puppy turning 4 months of age
  • Becoming a Michigan resident
  • The expiration date of the prior license. Licenses expire on December 31st of each year.

Fees (Cash or Check only):

  • Spayed/Neutered $ 7.50 (documentation required)
  • Senior Citizen* $ 6.75
  • Male/Female $15.00
  • Senior Citizen* $13.50
  • After June 1st all licenses are $30.00.

*Senior Citizen price for dog owners 65 years of age or older (proof of age required)

How to purchase a license

Where How
Township Hall Take a valid rabies vaccination certificate to Independence Town Hall.
Participating Veterinarian Take the application form along with a valid rabies vaccination certificate
Mail to Oakland County Animal Control and Pet Adoption Center Mail the application form and a stamped self-addressed envelope along with a valid rabies vaccination certificate to: Oakland County  Animal Control and Pet Adoption Center, 1700 Brown Rd., Auburn Hills, MI 48326
On-Line Click this link to get your pet license online” and follow the instructions

  

Oakland County Vehicle Permits

County Parks           combo

Fees (Cash or Check only):
The Treasurer's Office is now selling 2016 Oakland County Parks annual vehicle permits through August 31, 2016.  Oakland county residents pay $30.00 and non-residents $46.00  This will allow residents the use of Orion Oaks-Bark Park. You may also purchase a combination Parks Perks Pass which includes Huron-Clinton Metroparks for residents for $59.00. The parks are great fun for the whole family, including our family dogs.

Purchase one resident permit at regular price and pay just $20 for an additional resident permit to be used on vehicle in the same household. (Fee for a Non-resident additional pass is $36; Resident Seniors/Adaptive/Military pay $20 for an additional permit.) All permits must be purchased in the same transaction.

NOTE: This offer is available at in-person purchase locations only.